What Can You Eat

The gluten free diet involves totally eliminating the ingesting of all items containing the proteins found in wheat, rye, barley and the many related grains. Before you turn to a gluten free diet, make sure you see your doctor and determine if eliminating gluten is right for you. Starting the diet without complete testing is not recommended  and makes subsequent diagnoses more difficult. Always be safe rather than sorry.

Once you’ve made the decision to be gluten free, you can purchase ingredients at a natural food stores, online and at some supermarkets. Fresh fruits, meats and veggies are a great place to start – always remember, if they are fresh they are gluten free. If the food is processed or prepared, the chances are it is not. In a building a gluten free diet plan, remove wheat grain products, including the obvious breads, cakes and scones – and the not so obvious – among them, products with wheat starch or other gluten-containing grain derivatives.

Every person with coeliac disease must become a bit of a chemist. Preparing delicious gluten free foods takes alot of practice, diligence and experimentation.